Blog Post Lists

5 best stand-alone fantasy books when you don’t want to commit!

You know that feeling when you are reading a book, in this case fantasy, and you finish it and you realize that you don’t have the next in the series? and then you look for it on Amazon or B&N or wherever you buy books, and you remember that you are on a buying ban because your shelves are about to explode and you are like us with an infinite TBR? Do not lie, I know you identify with this scenario.

I got a bit obsessed with getting into fantasy, and all the books that I had are part of a series or are stand alone. However, I was not exactly sure how or where to start with fantasy. I have tried a few, but I was unable to finish them, although everybody loves them, so I though that the best way to start is starting small.

I asked BooksintheSkye, a fellow avid reader, and she helped me with a small list on best stand alone fantasy books when you don’t want to commit.

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery like the grimoire. Then an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire, and Elisabeth is implicated in the crime.

I checked a review by the great The Perks of Being Noura and this is what she says Sorcery of Thorns was so well written. I fell in love with the writing style and everything was flawlessly explained. The first chapter hooked her immediately. The world building, characters and descriptions were AMAZING. It felt magical from the first page all the way to the last. [Read her full review here]

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Two star-crossed magicians engage in a deadly game of cunning in The Night Circus, where they are not putting themselves at risk but their own daughters and sons. The circus arrives at night without warning and as it comes it goes, it mesmerizes, captivates and transform the lives of those that visit it! Join the first novel of Erin Morgenstern and be enamored as the rest of us readers!

The Sword of Kaigen by M.L. Wang

On a mountainside at the edge of the Kaigenese Empire live the most powerful warriors in the world, superhumans capable of raising the sea and wielding blades of ice. For hundreds of years, the fighters of the Kusanagi Peninsula have held the Empire’s enemies at bay, earning their frozen spit of land the name ‘The Sword of Kaigen.’

Part of Kindled Unlimited, so signed up for the membership and read this book! Bookintheskye says that this book was absolutely stunning and it was beautifully written. A lot happened but the novel never left boring or overwhelming. The characters developed so well that I can only appreciate what the author has done. [Read her full review here].

Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston

Among the Beasts and Briars is a dark, lush fairy tale–inspired fantasy for fans of Sara Raasch and Susan Dennard! In this young adult epic fantasy, we have Cerys who is safe in the Kingdom of Aloriya surrounded of droughts, disease, or famine, but peace is everlasting… the woods are cursed and are dangerous, and when the new queen is crowned, the dangers start to rise! BooksintheSkye says that this is a book that you much pick up if you want good fantasy! Everything about it was just perfect: the writing style to the characters. Please pick up this book. You will not regret it. [Read full review here]

The Winter Witch by Paula Brackston

Although this book is part of the Shadow Chronicles The Winter Witch can be read as a stand alone.

In her small early nineteenth century Welsh town, there is no one quite like Morgana. She is small and quick and pretty enough to attract a suitor, but there are things that set her apart from other girls. After her wedding, Morgana falls in love with Cai’s farm and the wild mountains that surround it; however, a dark force is at work there—a person who will stop at nothing to turn the townspeople against Morgana, even at the expense of those closest to her. Forced to defend her home, her man, and herself from all comers, Morgana must learn to harness her power, or she will lose everything in this beautifully written, enchanting novel.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit: 75th Anniversary Edition Kindle Edition is enhanced with free video, free audio and you can read it and listen to it for free! Did I said free already? This is simply a deal that you should let go! You can sigh up to 2 months free of Kindle Unlimited and read this with your children even! Get them into the world of one of the most read and sold fantasies of the world. This story can be totally read as a stand alone and before reading any of the other books.

Join the journey of a small hobbit who never though on leaving his save house, but when adventure calls, you obey! And you obey faster when the call comes from a gray wizard that is looking to defeat a dragon. Dragons, elfs, dwarfs, and much more will be the companions and enemies of the story!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Check us out on social media for bookish life and weekly content creation. Check out our pictures, our reviews on-demand, indie reviews, and memes in any of our below networks! We review audiobooks, physical books, ebooks, and share bookish news!

Advertisements

Love books? Get your next read for 50-90% off the list price, plus $5 off your first order at Book Outlet!

Want to try out Book of the Month and its beautiful versions? Click on the icon to get a free book on us!

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases

Become an Awin affiliate and monetize your blog!

27 comments

  1. Fantasy is one of my favorite genres to read. I have The Sword of Kaigen on my Kindle, so I have best get to reading that book soon. The others I am somewhat familiar with but will have to make an effort to check out at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are so many books out there! That one the Kaigen one seems to be really good! A lot of fantasy lovers have read it! Hopefully you will get to it and enjoy it! 🤗🤗🤗 thank you for reading!

      I also didn’t know some of these books haha

      Like

  2. I DO have The Night Circus and Sorcery of Thorns at home. You are absolutely right. I should totally go and read those when I don’t feel like a whole series. I have to admit, I was worried that Sorcery of Thorns might get a sequel.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The only one I’ve read on this list is Sorcery of Thorns, and I agree! There were a couple that I haven’t even heard of like Among the Beasts and Briars, but now my interest is peaked!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: