17 Apocalyptic Books Like THE LAST OF US

This list is for those who haven’t been emotionally damaged enough by the ending of The Last Of Us, or for those that have been but still need more drama, stress, and passion in their lives!

I was not ready for this season to finish so early, knowing how the game ended, but yet, I wanted it to continue! And yes, I am one of those who have been destroyed by the finally but still need more! I am a greedy reader who needs more, more, more! So, I did the work for you and I collected a total of 18 books like The Last of Us! that you can read if you need to feel that void!


The Road by Cormac McCarthy

This is the story of a father and his son walking alone through America trying to find refuge and a safe place. With only a gone to protect themselves, they cross a dusty, cold, death, dark America that threatens them constantly. This is a story of endurance, fatherly love, and hope.


Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler

This is the story of Lauren Olami, who lives in one of the last safe neighborhoods in Los Angeles. Outside of these walls lays an America that has been destroyed by drugs, disease, war, and water shortages. However, one day their refuge is destroyed and they now have to find ways to survive.

The Passage by Justin Cronin

This is a story of catastrophe and survival. Amy was pursued and imprisoned by the government to run an experiment with apocalyptic proportions, but Agent Brad Wolgast falls for her and does everything to save her while society is collapsing, but then Amy knows that she has the power to save the ruined world.

City of Thieves by David Benioff

This is the story of Lev and Koyla being given a shot at saving their own lives by complying with an outrageous directive: secure a dozen eggs for a powerful Soviet colonel to use in his daughter’s wedding cake.


The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

This is the story of Malanie who lives in a cell and is collected every day for class, but when they go pick her up they always point a gun at her while they strap her into a wheelchair. This is a groundbreaking thriller, emotionally charged and gripping from beginning to end where Melanie jokes that she won’t bite, but the soldiers do not laugh.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

This is the story of Kirsten Raymonde, who will never forget when a devastating flu pandemic arrived and devastated human civilization, but twenty years later, Kirsten and her surviving friends encounter a violent prophet who threatens her and her friends.

Swan Song by Robert R. McCammon

This is the story of Swan a 9-year-old girl who receives a vision of doom. Nuclear bombs annihilate civilization leaving only a few survivors to crawl for safety. However, her vision came with a malevolent force that will put Swan to fight for her survival and for that of humankind.


One Second After by William R. Forstchen

The story of a man who struggles to save his family after America loses a war that took them all back to the Dark Ages. An Electro Magnetic Pulse destroyed all technology and this is a weapon many of our enemies already have.


Wanderers by Chuck Wending

The story of a group of very different people who become the world’s last hope. A story of survival when the sleepwalking phenomenon brings terror and violence to America. However, the real danger might be people’s fear of the epidemic and not the epidemic per se.


Red Moon by Benjamin Percy

This is the story of Patrick Gamble who was the sole survivor of a plane ride. Chase Williams was sworn to protect America but is becoming the thing he promised to destroy. The thread is under control but when the red moon arrives the battle for humanity’s survival will start.


Cruel World by Joe Hart

Quinn Kelly strives to find meaning in his life while struggling with a deformity that has kept him from leaving the only home he has ever known. A sudden and deadly virus sweeps across the nation, killing nearly all it touches. Within days Quinn is left to fend for himself in an empty world.


The Dogs Star by Peter Heller

Almost everything that Hig loves is dead, his wife and his friends, but his dog Jasper is still alive and lives with him in a small abandoned airport with his dog. However, a random transmission hits his radio, hope comes back to Hig’s life, so he will risk everything to find what is left of humanity’s hope.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

We follow the story of Cass a survivor of the 5th wave. Those who came to invade the world look human and roam the earth killing them. Cass thinks that the only way to survive is by staying alone but when Evan Walker crosses her path, he becomes the only hope Cass has to save her brother.


Last Ones Left Alive by Sarah Davis-Goff

Raised in isolation by her mother and Maeve on a small island off the coast of a post-apocalyptic Ireland, Orpen’s life has revolved around training to fight a threat she’s never seen. Orpen feels the call of finding other survivors inland, but she knows that there is where the skrake live… the flesh-eating menace that is bringing humanity down.


Moon of the Crusted Snow by Waubgeshig Rice

With winter looming, a small northern Anishinaabe community goes dark. Cut off, people become passive and confused. Panic builds as the food supply dwindles. While the band council and a pocket of community members struggle to maintain order, an unexpected visitor arrives, escaping the crumbling society to the south. Soon after, others follow. A story of how from catastrophe comes resilience and how as one society collapses, another is always reborn.

The Girl in Red by Christian Henry

The Crisis came and decimated the population. The only survivors fleed into quarantine camps that serve as breeding grounds for death, destruction, and disease.

The girl in read knows it is not save on the woods but she has no other option because she needs to survive in a world that doesn’t look anything like the one she grew up in.

Between Two Fires by Christopher Buehlman

This is the story of Thomas, a disgraced knight, who has found a young girl alone in a dead village. She tells Thomas that plague is only part of a larger cataclysm—that the fallen angels are rising in a second war on heaven.

In this story, Thomas will find himself on a battleground of angels, demons, saints, the risen dead, and in the midst of a desperate struggle for nothing less than the soul of man.


Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Check us out on social media for bookish life and weekly content creation. Check out our pictures, our reviews on-demand, indie reviews, and memes in any of our below networks! We review audiobooks, physical books, and ebooks, and share bookish news!

Advertisements

ThriftBooks | LinkedIn
Love books? Get your next read for 50-90% off the list price, plus $5 off your first order at Book Outlet!

Want to try out Book of the Month and its beautiful versions? Click on the icon to get a free book on us!

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases

Become an Awin affiliate and monetize your blog! Prices, books available, and promotions may vary!

Advertisement
  1. 15 Sci-Fi Books to Read if You Love Black Mirror – Inkish Kingdoms Avatar

    […] We do, and that is why we are trying to fill the space left by the end of the first reason of The Last of Us, and we made a list about […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Discover New Books!

Buy Book Merch HERE

Donate to our cause!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: